Southern Cascades (Goosenest, CA)

    Southern Cascades Map

    • Klamath National Forest, Goosenest Adaptive Management Area
    • Mixed-conifer forest: Ponderosa pine, and white fir.
    • Fire return interval: 10-15 years
    • Represents several hundred thousand hectares in California

    The southern Cascades site is located in northern California to the northeast of Mt. Shasta. The study area was essentially clearcut in the early 1900s by railroad logging. The forest we work with today is the forest that has regrown since that early logging.

    Papers With Findings - General


    Papers With Findings - Economics


    Papers With Findings - Entomology


    Papers With Findings - Fuel


    Papers With Findings - Sociology


    Papers With Findings - Soil


    Papers With Findings - Vegetation


    Papers With Findings - Wildlife

    Carl Skinner, USDA, FS, PSW Research Station
    cskinner@fs.fed.us
    530-242-2463

    Rose Leonard, USDA, FS, PSW Research Station
    rleonard@fs.fed.us
    530-226-2539

    Economics
    Jamie Barbour, USDA, FS, PNW Research Station
    jbarbour01@fs.fed.us
    503-808-2074
    Entomology
    Chris Fettig, USDA, FS, PSW Research Station
    cfettig@fs.fed.us
    530-758-5151
    Fuels
    Carl Skinner, USDA, FS, PSW Research Station
    cskinner@fs.fed.us
    530-242-2463
    Pathology
    Bill Otrosina, USDA, FS, Southern Research Station
    wotrosina@fs.fed.us
    706-559-4279
    Soils
    Ralph Boerner, Ohio State University
    boerner.1@osu.edu
    614-292-8280

    Vegetation
    Carl Skinner, USDA, FS, PSW Research Station
    cskinner@fs.fed.us
    530-242-2463

    Wildlife
    Steve Zack, Ph.D., Wildlife Conservation Society
    szack@wcs.org
    503-241-3743

    Kerry Farris, Wildlife Conservation Society
    kfarris@wcs.org
    520-881-9986