Emissions and Smoke Portal Contributors

Information available through the Emissions and Smoke Portal is the result of efforts from the NWCG Smoke Committee (SmoC), University of Idaho, and the Fire Research and Management Exchange System (FRAMES). SmoC has been invaluable in developing information to support interagency leadership, coordination, and integration of air resources and fire management objectives to support overall land management goals. This information is further built upon by the University of Idaho to reflect the latest science, and synthesized to be available and useful to multiple levels of agency personnel, researchers, and the public. All of this is hosted by FRAMES, which allows the content to be broadly available to the larger community of wildland fire professionals, and researchers. 



Josh Hyde works with federal, state, tribal, and academic subject matter experts to create educational resources and outreach materials focused on wildland fire emissions and fuels management. As part of these efforts, he works closely with the National Wildfire Coordinating Group Smoke Committee (SmoC), Fire Research and Management Exchange System (FRAMES), the Wildland Fire Management Research, Development, and Application (WFM RD&A) Team, and the Pacific Wildland Fire Sciences Laboratory, where he is currently stationed. Josh’s background includes a M. Sci. in Forest Resources focused on in large woody fuel consumption, and a B. Sci. in Rangeland Ecology and Management, both from the University of Idaho.


Dr. Alistair M.S. Smith is an Associate Professor in the College of Natural Resources at the University of Idaho and is the Director of the Idaho Fire Initiative for Research and Education (IFIRE). At the University of Idaho, Dr Smith is also Program Lead for the BS in Fire Ecology and Management, the first degree of its kind in the United States. Dr Smith received his BSc in Physics in 1999 from the University of Edinburgh and both a MSc in Physics in 2000 and a Doctorate in Geography in 2004 from King’s College London, University of London. Dr Smith has published over 65 articles in peer-reviewed journals focused on different aspects of fire science, including fire behavior, fire effects, social science, emissions, and the use of remote sensing to assess wildland fires. Dr Smith works with multiple federal agencies to improve trainings related to air quality and smoke management, is a current member of the Education Committee for the Association for Fire Ecology, and helps promote the use of prescribed fires on the landscape by serving on the Governing Board of the National Coalition of Prescribed Fire Councils.

kara.jpgKara Yedinak is a postdoctoral research fellow in the Department of Forests, Rangelands, and Fire Sciences at the University of Idaho. Kara received her BS in Physics from Pacific University in 2002 where she studied low dimensional chaos and fluid flow.  She worked as a research technician in fire behavior science at the USDA Forest Service Fire Sciences Laboratory in Missoula, Montana from 2004 to 2007.  Kara completed her PhD in Engineering Science from the Laboratory for Atmospheric Research at Washington State University where she studied the interactions between the atmosphere and fire behavior through the use of model simulations and field observations.  Currently Kara is focused on work at the IFIRE laboratory investigating concepts surrounding wildland fire propagation theory.




Pete Lahm (US Forest Service)


Dave Mueller (Bureau of Land Management)

Theresa Alexander (Bureau of Land Management)
Tim Allen (Fish and Wildlife Service)
Pat Brewer (National Park Service)
Mike Broughton (US Forest Service)
Gary Curcio (IPA)
Dan Chan (Georgia Forestry Commission)
Tammy Eagan (FL Department of Environmental Protection)
Shawn Ferreira (San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District)
Mark Fitch (National Park Service)
Deb Fleming (NWCG)
Blaine Heumann (The Nature Conservancy)
Greg Johnson (Natural Resources Conservation Service)
Cindy Huber (Joint Fire Science Program)
Josh Hyde (University of Idaho)
Susan O'Neill (US Forest Service)
Melanie Pitrolo (US Forest Service)
Stephen Smith (Bureau of Indian Affairs)
Diana Scholtz (OK Department of Environmental Quality)
Lorrie Schwartz (Department of Defense)
Peter Teensma (OWF)
Jamie Tripp (US Forest Service)
Mary Uhl (WESTAR)
Doug Whisenhunt (USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service)
Nick Yonker (OR Department of Forestry)
Mike Zupco (Wildland Fire Leadership Council)

Smoke Training Subcommittee


Jamie Tripp (US Forest Service)


Andrea Boyer (Nez Perce Tribe)
Pete Lahm (US Forest Service)
Gary Curcio (IPA)
Riva Duncan (US Forest Service
Mark Fitch (National Park Service)
Josh Hyde (University of Idaho)
Peter Kelly (US Fish and Wildlife Service)
Mark Koontz (NWCG Operational Workforce Development Committee)
Rod Mendes (Hoopa Tribe)
Trent Procter (US Forest Service)