The purpose of the Fire Research Development and Application Committee (FRDAC) is to identify and prioritize fire research needs in Alaska, and facilitate the development and exchange of fire effects, fire behavior, fire danger and weather information.  The FRDAC is sponsored by the Alaska Wildland Fire Coordinating Group (AWFCG) and has been an organized committee since 1998. The FRDAC also works closely with the Alaska Fire Science Consortium in organizing fire science delivery opportunities along with many others in the Alaska fire management and academic communities.

Membership of the FRDAC includes one representative from each AWFCG member agencies: Alaska Department of Natural Resources, Division of Forestry; Alaska Department of Fish and Game; Bureau of Indian Affairs; Bureau of Land Management; National Park Service; U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service; USDA Forest Service, and a Native organization, currently represented by Chugachmiut.

FRDAC Charter  (pdf)

AWFCG_Logo_whiteBKGRD_128x80.png
USFS_Logo.png
National Park Service logo
dnrlogo_200.jpg Bureau of Land Management logo
ADFG_logo.jpg
bia_col_logo_clearBG.png
200px-US-FishAndWildlifeService-Logo1.png
logo_high_reso_small.jpg

FRDAC Members

Eric Miller, BLM - AFS (CHAIR)
Fire Ecologist
eamiller@blm.gov

Jennifer McMillan, BLM 
District Office Representative
jmcmillan@blm.gov

Jennifer Barnes, NPS
Regional Fire Ecologist
Jennifer_Barnes@nps.gov

Tom Paragi, ADFG
Wildlife Biologist
tom.paragi@alaska.gov

Chris Wennogle, BLM -AFS*
Smokejumper
cwennogle@blm.gov 

Jennifer Hrobak, NPS (VICE-CHAIR)
Assistant Fire Ecologist
jennifer_hrobak@nps.gov

Kristine Kosnik, BIA*
GIS Specialist
kristine.kosnik@bia.gov

Tom St. Clair, BLM*
Fire Management Specialist
tstclair@blm.gov

Lisa Saperstein, USFWS 
Regional Fire Ecologist
Lisa_Saperstein@fws.gov

Sue Rodman, ADFG*
Program Coordinator
sue.rodman@alaska.gov 

 

Jake Dollard, BIA
Fire Management Officer
jason.dollard@bia.gov

Nathan Lojewski, Chugachmiut
Forestry Manager
lojewskin@chugachmiut.org

Julie Vorachek, USFS*
Fire Management Officer
julielvorachek@fs.fed.us

KT Pyne, Alaska DOF 
Strategic Fire Planner
kathryn.pyne@alaska.gov

* = Indicates alternate committee members.

Quick Link: www.frames.gov/afsc/frdac/about

Contact Us


Please contact FRDAC Chair
Eric Miller if you are interested in pursuing an identified research need or have any other questions/comments.

Eric Miller
FRDAC Chair
BLM Alaska Fire Service 
eamiller@blm.gov
907-356-5857

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Get Adobe Reader