Alaska Fire Science Consortium > Partner Groups > Fire Behavior and Modeling Group > About FMAC

About the Fire Modeling and Analysis Committee (FMAC)

The purpose of the  Alaska Wildland Fire Coordinating Group (AWFCG) - Fire Modeling and Analysis Committee (FMAC) is to provide cohesive direction and collaborative response to address interagency needs for fire modeling and analysis within Alaska. This committee provides comprehensive integration and coordination in support of statewide data needs, analysis and modeling concepts and training/mentoring. It also provides consolidated responses to data and information requests to ensure Alaska-specific needs, anomalies, and conditions are supported in national systems. The FMAC has also been designated by the AWFCG as the Alaska liaison and point of contact for the LANDFIRE project.

Charter  (2011; pdf, 65 KB)

FMAC Members

Lisa Saperstein, USFWS (CHAIR)
Regional Fire Ecologist
Lisa_Saperstein@fws.gov

Kato Howard, BLM - AFS
State Fuels Management Specialist
khoward@blm.gov

Bobette Rowe, USFS
Fire Management Officer
bsrowe@fs.fed.us 

Rick Stratton, USFS/BLM
Regional Fire Analyst
rdstratton@fs.fed.us 

 

Rachel Loehman, USGS (CO-CHAIR)
Research Landscape Ecologist
rloehman@usgs.gov 

Nathan Lojewski, Chugachmiut
Forestry Manager
lojewskin@chugachmiut.org
(AWFCG Liaison)

Brian Sorbel, NPS 
GIS Specialist
brian_sorbel@nps.gov

Robert Ziel, AFSC
Fire Analyst
rhziel@alaska.edu

 

Jennifer Barnes, NPS
Regional Fire Ecologist
Jennifer_Barnes@nps.gov

Eric Miller, BLM - AFS
Fire Ecologist
eamiller@blm.gov

Tom St. Clair, BLM 
Fairbanks District Fire Management
tstclair@blm.gov

 

 

 

 

 

AWFCG_Logo_whiteBKGRD_128x80.png
dnrlogo_200.jpg
usfs_logo.jpg Bureau of Land Management logo afs logo 
National Park Service logo 200px-US-FishAndWildlifeService-Logo1.png  usgs_sm.png logo_high_reso_small.jpg

 NEEDED:


 WFDSS Fire Behavior Specialists in Alaska for 2017

Sign_Up_Now.png

 

 Contact Us


Please contact FMAC Chair Lisa Saperstein or your agency representative if you are interested in participating in fire modeling webinars/discussions or would like to assist in modeling this fire season.

Lisa Saperstein
FMAC Chair
Regional Fire Ecologist
USFWS
Lisa_Saperstein@fws.gov