Who We Are

    The AFSC Advisory Board is an interagency group designed to collectively guide and evaluate the activities of the Consortium. This board represents multiple  federal, state, and educational organizations throughout Alaska and the Lower 48.

    Board membership also spans a variety of expertise including operations, fire planning, fire weather/meteorology, fuels, fire ecology, and forestry as well as representation from multiple Alaska Wildland Fire Coordinating Group (AWFCG) Committees (Fire Research Development and Applications, Fire Prevention and Education, Fire Operations, Fire Weather, and Fire Modeling and Analysis).

    afs logo DNR_bright.gif
    National Park Service logo
    bia_100x96.gif Bureau of Land Management logo ADFG_logo_clearBG.gif
     ACCAP_small.png snap_acronym_screen_color_sm copy.gif
    US Fish and Wildlife Service logo
    USFS_Logo.png FRAMES logo usgs_sm.png

    Advisory Board Members


    Sharon Alden, NPS
    Fire Weather Program Manager
    salden@blm.gov

    Jennifer Barnes, NPS
    Regional Fire Ecologist
    Jennifer_Barnes@nps.gov

    Eric Geisler, BLM
    Forestry/Soils Lead
    egeisler@blm.gov

    Jake Dollard, BIA
    Regional Fire Management Officer
    jason.dollard@bia.gov

    Teresa Hollingsworth, USFS
    Research Ecologist
    tnhollingsworth@alaska.edu

    Kato Howard, BLM-AFS
    State Fuels Management Specialist
    khoward@blm.gov

     

    Jennifer Hrobak, NPS
    Fire Ecologist
    jennifer_hrobak@nps.gov

    Rachel Loehman, USGS
    Research Landscape Ecologist
    rloehman@usgs.gov 

    Mary Lynch, BLM-AFS, retired
    Planning & Environmental Coordinator


    Eric Miller, BLM-AFS

    Fire Ecologist
    eamiller@blm.gov

    Diana Olson, UI-FRAMES
    FRAMES Project Manager
    dlolson@uidaho.edu

     

     

    KT Pyne, AK DOF
    Fire Planner
    kathryn.pyne@alaska.gov

    Sue Rodman, ADFG
    Program Coordinator
    sue.rodman@alaska.gov

    Bobette Rowe, USFS
    AK Fire Operations
    bsrowe@fs.fed.us 

    Scott Rupp, UAF
    Scenarios Network for Alaska
    & Arctic Planning
    tsrupp@alaska.edu

    Lisa Saperstein, USFWS
    Regional Fire Ecologist
    Lisa_Saperstein@fws.gov

    Tom St. Clair, BLM-AFS
    Fire Management Officer
    tstclair@blm.gov

    Consortium Staff


    STmug.png
    Principal Investigator:

    Sarah Trainor
    University of Alaska Fairbanks
    sarah.trainor@alaska.edu

    AYmug.jpg
    AFSC Coordinator
    (Primary Contact):

    Alison York
    University of Alaska Fairbanks
    ayork@alaska.edu
    907-474-6964

    RJ-Funit2007.jpg
    Fire Ecologist:
    Randi Jandt
    University of Alaska Fairbanks
    rjandt@alaska.edu
    907-474-5088; cell 541-398-8033

    zeke_head_only.jpg

    Fire Analyst:

    Robert "Zeke" Ziel
    rhziel@alaska.edu
    Cell 906-869-3355

    Mailing Address:
    Alaska Fire Science Consortium 
    University of Alaska Fairbanks 
    International Arctic Research Center
    PO Box 757340
    Fairbanks, AK 99775

    Fax:
    907-474-7151

    Operating Guidelines and Governing Charter
    (115 kb PDF)