The Washington State Department of Natural Resources (DNR) has announced the first course for the Certified Prescribed Burn Manager course that was established by state legislature through House Bill 2733 in 2018. This will be a 3-day in-person course and the cost will be $100, but free to DNR employees.
The course will consist of:
- Approximately 4 hours of Pre-work that will be sent out to students.
- Two 8-hour classroom days covering Prescribed Burn content
- A morning field event, followed by an afternoon exam
Students with a passing grade on the exam will coordinate and complete an evaluation on a prescribed burn with the Certified Burner Program Manager to become certified.
Please contact Kyle Lapham in order to enroll, the class will be limited to 25 students. The deadline for enrollment is April 27, 2022.
Food and Lodging will not be provided, please plan accordingly.
More course information will be sent out to students once the deadline has passed. If you have any questions, please reach out to Kyle Lapham – Certified Burner Program Manager.
This course was established in response to the passing of the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 76.04.183